Royal Bridal Icons

30 Apr

Nothing is more exiting as the moment when the dress everybody has been talking about for months, finally reveals.

When I was a little girl, one of my best friends was an old lady that lived next to my grandmother. I used to visit her and she would give me peanuts and cookies. I really loved to spend time at her house and one of the reasons was because she had a Princess Diana bridal porcelain doll. She was quite big and was wearing an exact copy of Princess Diana’s wedding dress. I sat in front of the doll and admired her for hours. That was when my fascination for royal wedding dresses began.

I was not born when Princess Diana walked down the aisle in 1981 but I was watching every minute of the Norwegian royal weddings in 2001 and 2002, and off course for the Swedish one last year. The most exciting part is when we get to see the dresses. Yesterday was no exception.

I guessed that Catherine Middleton was going to wear something classic, clean and simple, either strapless or halterneck. I was very surprised by the lace arms, but I think that she could not have chosen a more perfect dress. The beautiful dress had many similarities to the one Grace Kelly wore in 1957, which is my favorite royal wedding dress of all times. It is no doubt that Catherine Middleton is the new bridal fashion icon.


 

 

Photo: ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com

One Response to “Royal Bridal Icons”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fashion Against AIDS « Jules`Dublin Diary - April 30, 2011

    […] Les hva jeg syntes om Catherine Middletons brudekjole på The Fashion Icons. from → Uncategorized ← Last day of college LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

